Bestowed annually, the Bloom Burton Award honours an individual scientist, inventor, executive, entrepreneur, industry leader, or policy maker who made the greatest contribution to Canada’s innovative healthcare industry in the previous year. Nominees will be accepted from any of the biotechnology, pharmaceutical, medical device, diagnostic/imaging, research instrumentation, consumer health, services or healthcare IT sectors, and equal consideration will be given to contributions across any stage of development – from discovery to commercial end markets.

The Bloom Burton Award winner will be chosen from an esteemed panel of judges, all of whom are respected international leaders in healthcare investment, entrepreneurship and journalism.

Nominations for the 2019 Bloom Burton Award are now open. Please read the press release for submission guidelines.


Thursday, September 26, 2019

Four Seasons Hotel
60 Yorkville Avenue
Toronto, Ontario

Cocktails 6:00PM | Dinner 7:00PM Black Tie


Our esteemed panel of judges are respected international leaders in healthcare investment, entrepreneurship and journalism:

Michael Altman, Managing Director, Perceptive Advisors

Karen Bernstein, Co-Founder and Chairman, BioCentury Inc.

Cecilia Gonzalo, Partner, Oberland Capital

Carl Gordon, Partner and Co-Head of Global Private Equity, OrbiMed Advisors

Dennis Purcell, Founder and Senior Advisory, Aisling Capital

Melinda Richter, Global Head of Johnson & Johnson Innovation – JLABS

Mayukh Sukhatme, President, Roivant Pharma


Our three finalists will be celebrated for their incredible contributions to the Canadian healthcare sector. Each of the finalists will receive a $25,000 cash prize, and a single winner will have the honour of being the 2019 Bloom Burton Award recipient.





Brian Bloom

Tel: (416) 640-7580